The Loud Talker

Focus on getting it right, not being right.

  • Archive

  • Subscribe

DailyKOS: KOS = Keeping Out Sanity

Posted by cann0nba11 on March 9, 2009

[originally posted 09/10/07. What’s old is new again.]

The very first paragraph in the “About” section at the DailyKOS says that the site was created “in those dark days when an oppressive and war-crazed administration suppressed all dissent as unpatriotic and treasonous. As a veteran, Moulitsas [site founder] was offended that the freedoms he pledged his life for were so carelessly being tossed aside by the reckless and destructive Republican administration.”

Let me point out two key objections of the founder:

  • the “administration suppressed all dissent”
  • He was “offended that the freedoms he pledged his life for were so carelessly being tossed aside…”

This would lead one to believe that the Daily KOS was a site motivated to seek the truth, promote discussion, welcome debate and strive to be everything that an ‘oppressive administration’ was not.

Survey says: WRONG

As a grown-up that enjoys sharing my opinion and engaging in debate with dissimilar opinions I thought it would be enlightening to create an account at the Daily KOS. I posted for a couple of weeks and tried to remain polite yet direct with my comments. Usually I was called crazy or clueless. Sometimes a member would counter with their own facts in a rational manner. The Internet at it’s finest.

Then I was ‘outed’ by ZappoDave. <insert dramatic music stab>

Apparently my comments supporting our troops pissed some of the loonies off. I suggested that the war could have been over years ago if soldiers were allowed to engage the enemy as they were trained as opposed to being handcuffed by the ridiculous rules of engagement that they are forced to follow today. I received three comments: an f-word laced emotional outburst plus two other less vicious yet still curse-including responses. I countered with “Curses and insults are the best you can come up with? My post and facts still stand.”

I came back a couple of days later to find that my commenting privileges had been revoked. Oh yeah… the three asinine comments and my pimp slap of the three were removed from the site. I drew out a few of the losers and they got erased along with me. Just like a good homicide bomber…

I also saw that there were several comments re: my outing. What do I mean by outing? ZappoDave had a stroke of investigative genius and checked out my member profile. He posted his ‘scoop’ in the comments section. He found my blog. <insert another musically tense stab> Note to Zappo… if I didn’t want people to know that I had my own conservative blog I wouldn’t have put the link in my KOS profile you bonehead! Yet users chimed in with “nice catch” and “this guy is a fucking troll.”

If voicing an opinion other than the liberal party line makes me a troll, color me guilty. I guess when you have nothing but your heart to argue with you can’t let things like facts our counterpoint get in the way of a good temper tantrum against the Neo-cons, right?

The site also is proud of the fact that “tens of thousands of regular Americans have used Daily Kos to lend their voice to a political world once the domain of the rich, connected, and powerful.” Um… the political world is still the domain of the rich, connected and powerful. I can only surmise that opinions like mine exclude me from the category of ‘regular Americans’ as defined by the left.

In other words, my dissent needed to be suppressed. My freedom was carelessly tossed aside.

What good is a message board if it contains nothing but redundant “atta boys” and “down with the man” posts? Where’s the intellectual stimulation? What possible value is gained by marching lock-step with a crowd of lemmings? If you truly believe what you say, if you have a rational defense for your opinions, wouldn’t you enjoy the opportunity to try and educate a non-believer? Wouldn’t you try to expose your political opposite as a fraud? I guess that’s not an option at the Daily KOS. You either tow the lefty line or you get muzzled.

We’ll see if my account regains its former privileges. (update 10/5/07: no privileges still… to disagree is to be shunned) When it does I’ll be glad to remove my Markos ‘Kos’ Moulitsas/Hitler ‘art.’ I would like to continue posting at the Daily KOS in the hope that I can foster discussion and maybe expose just some of the illogical musings of the uneducated. I’m not on a friggin’ Crusade, I’m just trying to insert a dose of perspective.

11 Responses to “DailyKOS: KOS = Keeping Out Sanity”

  1. That’s a badge of honor you need to wear proudly. Let me know when you start get start getting emails from them. That means you’ve REALLY struck a nerve.
    I’ll bet all the comments were anonymous, too.
    Welcome to my world. You’re gonna like it here.

  2. Oh, and I’m stelaing that picture. Good job.

  3. cann0nba11 said

    Someone apparently complained about my Kos/HItler image and had it removed from Photobucket. I’ve returned it… let’s see how long this lasts. Gotta love the left; they can sure dish it out but they are a bunch of cry babies and panzies when THEY are the subject of discussion.

  4. krystal said

    I decided to leave daily kos. It was actually becoming a sort of brainwashing I was going through. I am a liberal, no doubt about it, but DK seems to defeat its own purpose by stopping any sort of free thinking. Once you get to that magical TU status and the troll option is given to you, you are then obligated to use some sort of parameters to hunt out trolls. The parameters have already been set, whether you are aware of it or not. Groupthink sets in and the only power you are allowed to have is to whack trolls that the higher ups want you to. If you don’t toe the line, then your TRs are rescinded or you are shouted down.

    Since you can’t delete your accounts, you’d think the least you could do is delete your diaries. That option is given to you. At least that was something, since I didn’t want my work to represent a site I wasn’t really going to promote or be involved in anymore. So, I started to delete my (all of 5) diaries. They have a little box that comes up asking you to type in “Delete” when you go to delete a file. Well, I was a dumbass. Why I couldn’t figure out that this was a clear signal to an admin to lock down the account is completely beyond me. I think I was just to trusting. But alas, all trust is now lost.

    The lesson is, boys and girls, if you go to delete your diaries (the comments are forever…) then DO NOT type “delete” into the little box that comes up. Just click edit and then ctr + A and then do the magic with ctr + x. That will wipe out the data before they can blink. If you’ve got a lot of diaries, you can problably get them all the data (not the “diary itself”) erased in an hour or two if you have that many.

    But, now to some of my more troubling incidents with Kos. There were a couple of times when I was posting a comment and found that someone had put a strike through a few words of what I had written. Hmmm, censorship. As you can tell, I am not a stupid writer. Been through grad school and all that bullshit. I can write a great mind-provoking comment once in a while. But I really don’t want some invisible power censoring my thoughts. Not quite the liberal ideal. Another time, someone started deleting harmless pictures of flowers I was posting in their popular “Cheers and Jeers” column just a minute or two after I had posted them. That was freaky! I decided to let it ride, because of their policy of not using other peoples copywrited work and they might have thought that I was doing that – they were good pictures, but it just didn’t click. Then I started figuring that this Cheerrs and Jeers column was kinda cliquey (Sp?). So maybe it was one of their cat lovers who was getting a little catty with me. The last straw was when I got another strike- through on a comment I posted – a whole sentence.

    I decided the only way out of the personality sucking whirlpool that is Daily Kos was to turn my back while I typed in a new password. I had to type in the same 4 keys 2 times and get it right. It took 2 tries, but I managed it. They’ve still got a couple of my diaries pumping up their stats, but I’m out and won’t go back in. It’s the closest I can get to actually deleting my account or trying the GBCW routine. I’ve got some pride, although it would be fun.

    So, there’s a couple of tips for those of you wanting out of the DK universe.
    1. Don’t use the “type in delete” option when you want to take your work with you, just erase the data. Quickest way is to use the old ctl + a and then ctl + x and go quick or they’ll stop you once they see the data dissapearing.

    2. Since you can’t acutally delete your account. You must do something symbollic for yourself to rid yourself of – well whatever negative vibe you will be left with for not having power over your own Internet Destiny. Turn your back or close your eyes and type in a password. You’ve got to do it twice, so try to get 4 or 5 keys and then keep from remembering your finger positions until the next day. Case closed.

    If you’ve really got to do it – go for it, do the GBCW diary and make it into fiireworks. Just let me know when it’s going down and I’ll try to make it.

    But let me tell you a couple of things that happened before this incedent

  5. nothing to do with the island of Kos then? Oh well, never mind, should have used Google lol!

  6. Idetrorce said

    very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce

  7. cann0nba11 said

    Ide, I’m not stating an opinion here. I’m stating facts. I have been censored and muzzled at a supposed free speech web site. You don’t have the optin of disagreeing.

  8. kt said

    I got banned too and I’m a very open-minded person. I enjoy learning what “the other side” thinks so I can make an informed opinion. I’ve mellowed over the years because of it. I was shut out for simply wondering if some on the left might be hurting, rather than helping Obama’s campaign (I also provided support statements with sources & quotes)

    An attempt to re-register only yielded a condescending email inviting me to join the Wikipedia community. They use your I.P. address against you so it is physically impossible to re-register unless you take more time consuming methods. That’s why it takes 24 and one week in order to post comments/diary.

  9. Kay B. Day said

    Heartfelt congratulations–it is a badget of honor to be banned by the KOSsacks. That site is the “de facto leader” (nod to Dem strategists) of the current Democratic Party. Clinton and Obama give the site a big ear (no pun intended), and the Netroots Nation dictates policy for you and me. Sux.

    I’m going to try to email you, btw. best, Kay

  10. Wunderbahr! said

    RE: Your charming photoshopped effort

    Congratulations, you are the winner of Godwin’s Law. Your prize: a slap with a wet fish.

  11. cann0nba11 said

    I’m honored. Given the legitimate efforts I made to be polite, courteous, etc., I was censored by that hypocritical, whiny little bitch. I’ll wear this with honor. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
